Without Mercy – “Without Mercy” (2009)


Independent Release

Review By Tony Cannella

From Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada comes Without Mercy, a female fronted 4-piece band that specializes in death metal. On their self-titled debut, Without Mercy unleashes an unrelenting feast for aggressive metal fanatics everywhere. “Without Mercy” only features 8-tracks, but they are loaded with aggression, energy and raw appeal. Also the songs on the CD have a live feel and energy to them. Impressive too are the brutal vocals of front woman Alxs Ness. There is simply no slowing down or letting up for this band on their debut. “Succumb” is just a pure juggernaut of a track. Other highlights include: “Death Remains”, “Through the Haze” and “All Else Fails”. Amidst the pure mayhem, however there are flashes of some virtuoso playing, the Guitar solo in “CMDUC” comes to mind. Actually, the guitar playing of DJ Temple was really a huge highlight for me. The debut from Without Mercy is just a good thrash/death Metal release that is worthy edition to one of the most underappreciated and resilient genres in all of metal. It is good to hear more and more young bands re-discovering this field of metal and Without Mercy are one of the better ones I’ve heard in quite awhile.

Rating – 85/100



  1. Death Remains
  2. Through The Haze
  3. Slit
  4. Chasm
  5. CMDUC
  6. Succumb
  7. Pattern
  8. All Else Fails


Line Up

  • Alxs Ness – Vocals
  • DJ Temple – Guitars
  • Dallas Lacey – Bass
  • Matt Helie – Drums


MySpace * BandCamp * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like