Xandria – “Kill the Sun” (2003)


Label : Artoffact Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Xandria released their debut full-length “Kill the Sun” in 2003, now that it has been re-issued by Artoffact Records it gives those of us who missed it the first time around the chance to catch up on the catalog of this underrated German band. “Kill the Sun” features 10-songs and only 40-minutes worth of Gothic metal with many symphonic elements. That style can be heard on such great tracks as the opening titled track “Kill the Sun”, which serves as a fine introduction to the band. Of course lead vocalist Lisa Schaphaus-Middlehauve played an important role in the band with her expressive vocal style, but the contributions of the other band members – particularly guitarist Marco Heubaum can not be underestimated, but in fact all of the members are given the chance to shine and show exactly what they can do. “Mermaids”, “Ginger”, “She’s Nirvana” and the fantastic duo of the closing songs “Isis/Osiris” and “Calyx Virago” are some more songs that highlight the great talent of Xandria. Xandria still exists, although they have replaced lead vocalist Lisa Schaphaus Middlehauve (she left the band in 2008) with Kerstin Bischoff. Who knows if this will be a positive or negative step for the band to take, but the fact remains that “Kill the Sun” is a solid first addition to the bands increasingly strong catalog of Gothic influenced symphonic metal and a CD that I am sure will resonate with their loyal fan base for a long time to come. Kudos to Artoffact for putting this excellent CD out there again for all to enjoy.

Rating – 85/100



  1. Kill the Sun
  2. Mermaids
  3. Ginger
  4. She’s Nirvana
  5. Forever Yours
  6. Casablanca
  7. So You Disappear
  8. Wisdom
  9. Isis/Osiris
  10. Calyx Virago


Line Up

  • Lisa Schaphaus Middelhauve – Vocals
  • Marco Heubaum – Vocals, Guitar & Keys
  • Philip Restermeier – Guitars
  • Roland Krueger – Bass
  • Gerit Lamm – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like