Browsing articles tagged with " beats"
Mar 7, 2013

Mike Oldfield – “Tubular Beats” (2013)

Label : earMusic/Edel

Review by Davide Torresan

I am 26 years old, almost 27, and I don’t know who’s Mike Oldfield. Yes, you‘ve read right. Sometimes I’ve heard his name, but I’ve never listened to his music. Or at least I thought it. When “Tubular Beats” arrived on my desk, I fixed this issue looking a bit around and I can honestly say that I was surprised by what I’ve discovered since he’s the author of the famous hits “To France”, “Guilty” and “Moonlight Shadow”. I was really blown away by his skills and the boundless musical talent of this artist. “Tubular Beats” was the album that pushed me to browse within his infinite discography.

This new album is not a new experiment for Mike since already in the past it has been released something similar. “Tubular Beats” is the summary of all his most famous songs in a dance reinterpretation. The author of this work is Torsten “York” Stenzel, a famous producer and dj in Ibiza which every summer entertains thousands and thousands of people on the dancefloors. The name, and obviously the album cover, derive from “Tubular Bells”, the most renowned work of Mike and from its sequels. Continue reading »

Feb 2, 2013

Neikka RPM – “Chain Letters” (2011)

Label : Alfa Matrix

Review by Luisa Mercier

The US-based industrial band Neikka RPM is back with its third release. “Chain Letters” is definetely an up-tempo record in which the industrial is mixed with club beats. The groove can be found in every second of it and the enigmatic vocals of Dominique make everything sexier.

Just listen to “Kingdom of Fire” to catch a glimpse of what previously said. Female vocals intertwine with male ones creating a cold, epic song. The whole album is a long, distorted journey through deep bass-lines and bewitching vocal lines.

At about half of the album you will find a reloaded version of “Here’s Your Revolution”, a real hit, uplifting. “Chain Letters” is a collection of short songs that all together will create an hypnotic walk trough dance grooves ( “Sum Corvus”) and creepy moments (“No One Is Beautiful”). A little bit different than the rest is “I Feel Your Pain”, which is more dreamy, ambient, without losing their dark feeling. A perfect way to close “Chain Letters”, an album which can be compared to a night tour in a contemporary city: full of lights, different colors, but with a gloominess, a basic darkness which cannot be ignored. Continue reading »

Jan 7, 2013

MIKE OLDFIELD release new studio album “Tubular Beats” on FEBRAURY 1ST

earMUSIC is proud to announce the release of “Tubular Beats” the brand new remix album by Mike Oldfield. The album will be released on February 1st, 2013 and will include the most popular songs by Oldfield who has worked on new arrangements and new sounds for his compositions.

All tracks have been reworked from the original multi-track recordings and remixed together by Mike Oldfield and multi-platinum awarded German producer Torsten “York” Stenzel.

Newly recorded guitar parts by Mike Oldfield have been added to the mix, making “Tubular Beats” a new album by all means. A brand new song featuring ex-Nightwish singer Tarja Turunen closes the album on a high note.

Before “Tubular Beats”, Mike Oldfield and Torsten Stenzel had already worked together but with this new album the duo could fuse their style in a full elaborate project for the first time, adding to Oldfield most famous songs their approach and taste with all solutions offered by electronic music.

Continue reading »

Apr 10, 2012

Industrial/Electronic Realms Reviews : Mallory Switch – “Mallory” (2010)

Label : GB Sounds

Review by Tony Cannella

Mallory Switch is the oddly named band out of Italy. Their new debut full-length release is simply titled, “Mallory” and among the 10-tracks and 46-minutes worth of music featured, the band display their style of electronic beats and sounds, some rap and industrialized hard rock music, all coming together under the banner Mallory Switch. The opening track “Business Television” brings the listener into Mallory Switch‘s electro-world. That is followed by the bouncy, straight-forward song with the blunt title, “You Made My Shitlist” (this is my new favorite song title, ever!). The song alternates between being aggressive and techno influenced and is one of the more memorable tracks included here. “Dirt” keeps the momentum going, with an aggressive marching riff that just pounds away all the way through. Next track, “The Last Man on Earth” really stands out, thanks to the beat that is kept. This song also features a contribution from New York City based rap artist Beans (from the group Antipop Consortium). It is an interesting collaboration and one that works great. Audrey Lynch is the vocalist and guitarist for this trio and her vocal style has an infectious charm to it that goes along great with the music that is being performed. Other favorites include: “No Evil”, “Brand New World”, “Flow” and the final track “Mother Earth”, which is followed by 3-minutes of silence and then the dreaded unnamed, surprise bonus track. While not your typical metal release, “Mallory” still features some pretty memorable moments and Mallory Switch are a band that brings something a little bit different to the table. “Mallory” is a CD that mixes different influences, styles and ingredients. It’s all a pretty potent combination. I will admit that this is not what I would normally listen to on a regular basis but the songs on “Mallory” had me interested all the way through and it is just another example of how metal can expand horizons.

Rating – 80/100



  1. Business Television
  2. You Made My Shitlist
  3. Dirt
  4. The Last Man on Earth
  5. No Evil
  6. Brand New World
  7. Flow
  8. Evolution Machine
  9. Mumbling My Time
  10. Mother Earth


Line Up

  • Audrey Lynch – Vocals and Guitars
  • Zach Maier – Bass, Synth, Piano
  • Kid Lynch – Drums, Samples, Programming, Background Vocals



MySpace * Facebook 

6 color styles available:

Style switcher only on this demo version. Theme styles can be changed from Options page.


 photo 1402796831_youtube_256x256x32_zps12c9c5dd.png