Ellie Goulding – “Delirium” (2015)


Label: Polydor Records/Universal

Review by Warren Mayocchi

“Delirium” is Ellie Goulding‘s third album. She is building on the success of her first two albums and has a reputation for a husky vocal delivery and an edgy-pop songwriting style. So her latest album has been anticipated by many. Part of the anticipation is sure to be because of the Fifty Shades of Grey song, “Love Me Like You Do”, which undoubtedly gained her many new fans. On Ellie‘s previous albums I particularly enjoyed the emotional quality present in her singing, and “Love Me Like You Do” contains that quality but bought it into a cinematic style. With this background I was interested in hearing what “Delirium” would deliver. After a few listens of the album it is clearly focused on the pop oriented influences from Ellie‘s prior music – not a bad thing, but it has come at a cost. The emotional quality I really enjoyed is barely present. The music tends toward the dominating drum beat surrounded by various electronic instrumentation. There are interludes with a more acoustic style on the song “Devotion”. “Army” slows the drum beat a little and includes softer instrumentation, this song demonstrates how Ellie‘s voice shines when given the space. “Lost and Found” and “We Can’t Move to This” are the better tracks on the rest of the album. The first single from the the album is “On My Mind” (not counting “Love Me Like You Do”), it mixes in a short guitar riff, but is indicative of what you will find on the album.

There is a deluxe version of “Delirium” with 22 songs, I listened to the standard edition that still comes with 16 songs. To my ears the song writing is not strong enough to carry so many tracks. Perhaps if the musical style had been more varied the album could carry that many tracks, but the tracks are all too similar. There is joy in the music, it is mostly pleasant to hear, I expect that it will receive adulation, but ultimately this is disposable pop music. After the excitement is over there is little to come back to, enjoy it for the thrill of the ride.

Rating – 71/100



  1. Intro (Delirium)
  2. Aftertaste
  3. Something in the Way You Move
  4. Keep On Dancin’
  5. On My Mind
  6. Around U
  7. Codes
  8. Holding On For Life
  9. Love Me Like You Do
  10. Don’t Need Nobody
  11. Don’t Panic
  12. We Can’t Move to This
  13. Army
  14. Lost And Found
  15. Devotion
  16. Scream It Out




You May Also Like

Noémie Wolfs – Hooverphonic

Interview by Salvatore P. Belgian Hooverphonic are not your average pop band and their 19-years long career had taught them to never give up in front of the adversities (take…
View Post

THE FBR – New single “Still on the Run”

THE FBR – New single “Still on the Run” Americana/Rock Group The FBR Announce Strong Indie Folk Track, Premiered via Americana UK LISTEN TO “STILL ON THE RUN” Bandmates Malarie McConaha, lead singer and…
View Post


Interview by Laura Medina Swedish singer Adna just released her full length, debut album “Night” that is out now via Despotz Records. “Night” was just written in a mere 5…
View Post