Label: 4AD

Review by Luisa Mercier

Grimes aka Claire Boucher, is an indie artist from Quebec, Canada and this is her third release, the first released through 4AD, cult label for intellectual, comples, refined music. Compared to her previous works, the producion has become more bright, and this might be an effect of the label change, even though a darker mood was what we expected. The mysterious shadow that always used to surround Claire‘s compositions gives space to melodic moments which are quite new for her. (Listen for example to “Oblivion”). The record has a quite omogenuous structure, suggesting the idea of a futuristic party where the claustrophobic atmosphere dominates and where different styles are showcased. We find tracks with a persisting beat as “Symphonia IX (My Wait Is U)” which also has an industrial, dark undertone, quite mystical, and synth-based moments (“Nightmusic”) which has a slightly danceable feeling. Along the path, we meet cyborg and suffocating moments as in the short “Eight”, strong ’80s dark influences in “Visiting Statue” and pop moments, given that Grimes pop is always very very alternative (“Be a Body”, “Colour of Moonlight”). All in all, “Visions” is a good record, but not a masterpiece in my opinion. There is not the spark, the moment which make you say “This is genius”. Nonetheless, I think that indie lovers will be able to fully enjoy this record.

Rating – 65/100



  1. Infinite Love Without Fulfilment
  2. Genesis
  3. Oblivion
  4. Circumambient
  5. Vowels Space and Time
  6. Visiting Statue
  7. Be a Body
  8. Colour of Moonlight (Antiochus)
  9. Symphonia IX (My Wait Is U)
  10. Nightmusic (feat. Magical Cloudz)
  11. Skin
  12. Know the Way


Line Up

  • Grimes – Vocals, songwriting & all instruments



Facebook * Twitter * Site