Desdemona – “Endorphins” (2012)


Label : Danse Macabre Records

Review by Luisa Mercier

Desdemona is a Polish industrial rock band and “Endorphins” is their fourth full-length effort after a break due to singer Agnieszka having a serious accident that forced her in the intensive care for a long period. The album is worth the wait: it is full of dance beats, great hooks, guitar riffs and soaring vocals. An example is the lead single “Bring in All” which comprise all of these elements and will sound good even in a normal disco club, as well as “Poison”, “Jealous Sky” (one of my favourite with its killer hook and amazing produced vocals). In the end of the song you will even find a dubstep outro. “Devil’s Game” is more traditional industrial rock/metal while “Sorrow” is a gothic-tinged ballad, gloomier and quite different from the fun atmosphere that is found in the rest of the album. The vocal performance is top notch. “Let’s Play Love” goes back to the previous fun mood which goes on with the following “In Flames” and in “Euphoria” has a dub-step edge. Closing track “XXX” is heavy electronics with a sexy flavour. The production is crystal clear and mixes effectively hard dance beats and guitar riffs while keeping the vocals very crisp, making everything even more appealing. “Endorphins” is a very recommended release not only for industrial lovers, but also for a wider audience. Their hooks are not to be missed.

Rating – 75/100



  1. Bring In All
  2. Desdream
  3. Poison
  4. Jealous Sky
  5. Devil’s Game
  6. Sorrow
  7. Let’s Play Love
  8. In Flames
  9. Euphoria
  10. XXX


Line Up

  • Agnieszka Lesna – Vocals
  • Krzysztof Chorazy – Guitars
  • Szymon Swierczynski – Bass
  • Robert Plaskowski – Electronics


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Black Heaven – “Dystopia” (2011)

Label : Trisol Music Group GmbH Review by Luisa Mercier Black Heaven is the side project of mastermind Martin Schindler, which tried to complete the gothic rock played with Mantus through…
View Post