Diehard – “When Illusion Gone” (2011)


Independent Release

Review by Luisa Mercier

Diehard is a very young German band; they were founded in 2010 and released their first album at the begininning of 2011. They play a quite standard industrial metal, well produced and well sung and inform us that the album is a concept: “The lyrics of this album has one conceptual line. It shows our opinion about some global questions such as “How does the other side of our reality look like?”, “What does global illusion mean?”. It tells also about the world system and inner possibilities of everyone. We can change our reality and create our own world, it’s true. All we need is a high level of consciousness. “When Illusions Gone”, move your mind into another reality!” The first thing that strikes the listener is the intro “Dies Irae” which is quite different from the rest of the album: ambient/folk tinged music with choirs that pave the way for the electronics and the metal that follows. The songs are all similar in structure and will offer an occasion to headbang and dance live. The vocals by Alexander Morte are always very harsh and filtered through electronics, but the result is good and fits the style. Only in one song, “Cost Nothing”, some clean female vocals appear and the result is not very good, to say the truth. For the rest, I am surprised in a very positive way. Though self-released the album is well-produced, powerful, well balanced and crystal-clear in sound.  Looking forward to hearing more from them!

Rating – 70/100



  1. Dies Irae (Intro)
  2. Invoked Guard
  3. One Step Back
  4. My World
  5. Cost Nothing
  6. Madman
  7. Don’t Take the Money
  8. Era H.E.X (Bonus Track)


Line Up

  • Alexander Morte – Vocal, Guitar & Composing
  • Vic Torys – Keyboards & Back Vocal



You May Also Like

Zola Jesus – “Nail” EP

Label: Mute Records Review by Warren Mayocchi “Nail” is the latest single/EP from the most recent Zola Jesus album – “Taiga”. It is an emotional song which begins with a…
View Post