Reism – “Something Darker” (2011)


Independent Release

Review by Luisa Mercier

After their 2005 debut “Lifestyle Product”, Norwegian/English Reism are back and unleash the lethal mix of guitars, electronic, atmosphere and rhythm. The arrangements are overall very brilliant, courtesy of the multi-talented Tom Poole-Kerr, but what strikes the most are the vocals of Kirsten Jørgensen.

She is absolutely stunning, her vocal lines are dark, emotional, fragile, angry, sweet; in a few words she can be a very versatile singer and will make Reism music an unique experience. Let’s take a look at the music now: there are harder moments, other softer, but what is always present is the electronic, which seems to be the most suitable and comfortable contex for Reism. Electronic music offers a lot of possibilities, so you get the opener “Give In” which explorates metal territories with some harsh male vocals in between riffs and you get “Sink In Deep (Dark Waters)”, a ballad which might not match your classic idea of slow song, but it surely deserves multiple listens, believe me. It has a slight gothic feel to it, as “Words” does with its strings and keyboards in the beginning.  Production, mixing, everything is crystal-clear and that is even more surprising since they crafted “Something Darker” all by themselves! Recommended.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Give In
  2. Let Me Go
  3. Liars In Love
  4. Sink In Deep (Dark Water)
  5. This Is All For You
  6. Words
  7. Broken
  8. Make Me Feel
  9. Pieces
  10. Lullaby


Line Up

  • Kirsten Jørgensen – Vocals
  • Tom Poole – Kerr – Guitar, Programming
  • Stein Sjurseth – Guitar
  • Kim Lund – Bass
  • Frode Sjo – Drums


MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Zola Jesus – “Nail” EP

Label: Mute Records Review by Warren Mayocchi “Nail” is the latest single/EP from the most recent Zola Jesus album – “Taiga”. It is an emotional song which begins with a…
View Post