September Mourning – “Melancholia” (2012)


Label: Repo Records

Review by Luisa Mercier

The gothic rock band September Mourning debuted with “Melancholia” and hails from the United States. The founder, the vocalist September defines the project much more than a band, it is an universe, a story entwined with its own musical world. This double project, musical and graphic, has immediately gained a certain success and has shared the stage with the likes of Dommin, Marilyn Manson, The Birthday Massacre and other quite well known names in the dark/electro rock scene. The band also claims to be quite original. I do not think that their imagery is unique since it is difficult to be unique in the gothic scene nowdays, but doubtless the project has been carefully crafted. As far as music is concerned, the album is highly enjoyable. It is really catchy gothic rock with a lot of influences ranging from electronica to metal and rock, so it is a musical product that lovers of dark atmospheres will love for sure. She has a nice voice, able to switch from more raspy vocals to sweeter tones that reminds of the angelical singers typical of this genre of this music. We will hear from them again, that’s for sure.

Rating – 70/100



  1. Go for the Throat
  2. A Place to Call Your Own
  3. Always
  4. Fallen
  5. Love Is War
  6. Lost Angels
  7. Crimson Skies
  8. Seal Your Fate
  9. Beyond the Grave
  10. Last Embrace


Line Up

  • September* – Vocals/Screams
  • Riven – Guitar/Keys
  • Shadou – Guitar
  • Wraith – Bass
  • Twitch – Drums


Facebook * Site

You May Also Like

Black Heaven – “Dystopia” (2011)

Label : Trisol Music Group GmbH Review by Luisa Mercier Black Heaven is the side project of mastermind Martin Schindler, which tried to complete the gothic rock played with Mantus through…
View Post