KANDIA – “Quaternary” (2022)

“Quaternary” is the title of the new album from Portugal’s alternative metal duo Kandia. It is the 3rd album and first in 9 years. And here you can read our review.

KANDIA – “Quaternary” (2022)

Frontiers Records SRL

Review by Tony Cannella

KANDIA  - "Quaternary" (2022)
KANDIA – “Quaternary” (2022)

“Quaternary” is the title of the new album from Portugal’s alternative metal duo Kandia. The band consists of Nya Cruz and André Da Cruz. It is their 3rd album and first in 9 years. “Quaternary” also sees the band joining the growing roster of super-label Frontiers Music SRL. Kandia is such a promising band. And, with “Quaternary” all the proof you need is within these 11-tracks and 44-minutes.

“Quaternary” kicks off the haunting piano-laden intro, “Anthropocene” which then gives way to the bombastic groove-heavy riff of “Obliterate”. This track has plenty of atmospheres as it goes from heavy to an ambient tone throughout the track. “The Flood” is next and starts with another solid riff and forges to become one of the better songs available here.

One of the pure joys for me on this record is the vocal performance of Nya Cruz. Her vocals are crystal clear, and she exhibits some aggression and just a ton of passion and heart. Next is the single/video track “Fight or Flight”. The band demonstrates a very accessible, melodic, and heavy sound. My favorite tracks are the trio of “Phb”, “Deathwish” and “Murderers”. Those three songs right there sealed the deal for me.

I can’t tell you how much I thoroughly enjoyed “Quaternary”. The band has grown in leaps and bounds since its 2008 debut. And, I would suspect that they will continue to grow and progress. Whatever comes next, I feel that Kandia has released the defining work of their career thus far. Hopefully, with the Frontiers machine behind them, Kandia’s music will deservedly reach a wider audience.

  1. Anthropocene
  2. Obliterate
  3. The Flood
  4. Fight or Flight
  5. Until the End
  6. Turn the Tide
  7. Pbp
  8. Deathwish
  9. Murderers (feat. Jorgen Munkeby)
  10. A New Dawn
  11. Holocene
You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post