Castle – “Blacklands” (2012)


Label : Vàn Records

Review by Luisa Mercier

After the highly praised debut “In Witch Order”, Castle are back after only a year with “Blacklands”. The vocalist Elizabeth was and still is impressive with her gloomy, raspy voice, perfect for this kind of music, but, of course it is the whole band that is really convincing. Without too many pretenses, the band managed to create some of the heavier doom metal out there. There are no embellishments in these riffs, which seem to get more fluid and encompassing as the album goes on; and Elizabeth not only contributes with vocals, but also with her powerful bass. Castle manages to draw a thin line between traditional and doom metal. The lyrics are smart texts about the dark sides of life, forcing the listeners to think about it. Definitely “Blacklands” is one of the best albumns released in contemporary doom metal, one which mixes old classics and more modern myths, so if you are a fan of the genre, please take a listen.

Rating – 70/100



  1. Ever Hunter
  2. Corpse Candles
  3. Storm Below the Mountain
  4. Blacklands
  5. Curses of the Priests
  6. Venus Pentagram
  7. Alcatraz
  8. Dying Breed 


Line Up

  • Elizabeth Blackwell –  Vocals & bass
  • Mat Davis – Vocals & guitar
  • Al McCartney – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site


You May Also Like