Céphée Lyra – “A Sinner’s Loneliness” (2010)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

The French band Symphonic/Progressive Metal Band Céphée Lyra first formed around 2005. After releasing a demo in 2007 and an EP in 2009, the band has resurfaced with their debut full-length “A Sinner’s Loneliness”. What you hear on “A Sinner’s Loneliness” is 10-songs and 49-minutes worth prog-metal style songs with intricate arrangements and the outstanding vocals of Maud Henrnequet. The band also displays a penchant for mixing bursts of heaviness and melody into their songs to go along with the progressive elements featured here. Beginning with the movie soundtrack style intro “Days of Wrath”, Céphée Lyra comes out with all guns blazing on “Burning Paradise”. At over 7-minutes long this is one of the longer tracks offered up here and immediately the vocals of Maud Hennequet are demanding of attention as she goes from a regular metal voice to an operatic style (perhaps a little too operatic at times, but still quite powerful and effective). There is a cool orchestral moment near the end of the song that is quite memorable. “Horsemen of the Apocalypse” is next and has a little symphonic intro that again conjures up thoughts of movie soundtrack type stuff, before a powerful metal riff joins in. “Deeper Into Rage” is next and has a steady groove running through it and sees Maud sharing vocal duties with a clean male singer on this one. Other highlights include: “Lost in a Controversial Mind”, “A Destructive Victory” and the almost 9-minute “Sons of Sorrow”. With “A Sinner’s Loneliness”, Céphée Lyra has shown that they have loads of potential and the talent to go along with it. This is an impressive full-length debut. 

Rating – 88/100



  1. Days of Wrath
  2. Burning Paradise
  3. Horsemen of the Apocalypse
  4. Deeper Into Rage
  5. Lost In A Controversial Mind
  6. Dusks of Pride
  7. A Destructive Victory
  8. The Myth
  9. Sons of Sorrow
  10. Nights of Envy


Line Up

  • Maud Henrnequet – Vocals
  • Sylvain Claux – Guitar
  • Julien Goeuriot – Guitar
  • Aurelién Vission – Bass
  • Hector Lugaz – Drums



MySpace * Facebook

You May Also Like