Crisalida – “Raco” (2009)


Label : Mylodon Records

Review by Tony Cannella

From Chile, Crisalida play progressive rock/metal and describe their sound as Chilean art rock on their My Space profile. Whatever the case, they have so much more to offer than your standard prog rock. Their new album is titled “Raco” and most of the songs are sung in their native tongue. The music on “Raco” veers off into many different and exciting territories that leave the listener breathless and wondering what is around the next corner. It’s all very extraordinary and well, quite good.“Deficit Global” starts the 7-song and 50-minutes worth of music contained on “Raco”. This is a pretty strong opening number that showcases the bands immense skills; especially great is the guitar solo. It is the next song that really grabbed my attention. “Indigo” is 10-minutes long and for the most part it has a laid back Pink Floyd vibe to it, before venturing off into 70’s prog rock territory, and then giving way to a Black Sabbath style of heavy riff. Another highlight is the 10-minute instrumental track, “Corporatocracy”. This is just a solid musical 10-minutes interwoven with sound samples from movies, this is one of the better instrumental tracks I have heard recently and even though it is quite long, it still managed to hold my attention for the duration. “Raco” is a very impressive achievement for Crisalida and an outstanding release in every way imaginable from this Chilean band. I really liked this CD but I don’t think any words can do them justice, so check ‘em out and decide for yourself.

Rating – 95/100


  1. Deficit Global
  2. Indigo
  3. Libre Albedrio
  4. Corporatocracy
  5. Desterra
  6. Raco
  7. Into
  8. Viento del Sur

Line Up

  • Cinthia Santibañes – Vocals
  • Cristián Carillo – Guitars
  • Felipe Troncoso – Keyboards
  • Rodrigo Castro – Bass 
  • Rodrigo Sánchez – Drums 



MySpace * Facebook *  Twitter * Site



You May Also Like