Diablo Swing Orchestra – “Sing Along Songs for the Damned & Delirious” (2009)


Label : Ascendance Records

Review By Erwin Van Dijk

When a reviewer writes a review about a relatively unknown band he or she will try to compare the music with another band operating in more or less the same genre. You can say a lot of things about Diablo Swing Orchestra but they certainly do not sound like your average metal band. This is good because there are already enough copycats and faceless bands in this world. At the other hand, things are very black & white:or you hate them or you will love them. “Sing Along Songs for the Damned & Delirious” starts with two jazzy songs which, by lack of better comparison, reminds me of the Dead Kennedys song “We have got a bigger problem now” (a jazzy make over of the punk classic California Über Alles). After those two the band goes on in their unique style. More metal oriented but still very Diablo Sing Orchestra. Some songs reminds me of the work of Haggard, especially when the classical parts kick into gear. As said before, this is an album you should not buy blindly from a review. First listen to it. And if you are in for something unique this would be something for you!The cover art by Peter Bergting who usually does book covers and graphic novels.

Rating – 75/100



  1. A Tapdancer’s Dilemma
  2. A Rancid Romance
  3. Lucy Fears the Morning Star
  4. Bedlam Sticks
  5. New World Widows
  6. Siberian Love Affairs
  7. Vodka Inferno
  8. Memoirs of a Roadkill
  9. Ricerca dell’anima
  10. Stratosphere Serenade


Line Up 

  • Annlouice Loedglund – Vocals 
  • Daniel Håkansson – Guitars & Vocals
  • Pontus Mantefors – Guitars & Keyboards 
  • Andy Johansson – Bass
  • Johannes Bergion – Cello
  • Andreas Halvardsson – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site


You May Also Like