Lacuna Coil – “Dark Adrenaline” (2012)


Label : Century Media Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Italy’s greatest metal export Lacuna Coil returns with their 6th album. It’s been almost 3-years since they released “Shallow Life” to mixed reviews. Their new album “Dark Adrenaline” sees the band getting back to basics and rocking out, with their trademark vocal duels between Cristina Scabbia and Andrea Ferro and the band has never sounded better. With all due respect to their more recent outputs, my favorite Lacuna Coil albums have always been their first EP and “In a Reverie” and I always found it strange that the band never plays (or even acknowledges) any songs from those albums these days. Don’t get me wrong, I have liked – for the most part – what came after, there has certainly been much, much more good than bad in regards to their music. Having said that, in my opinion “Dark Adrenaline” is the best and most consistent Lacuna Coil album since “In a Reverie”. The proof is in the material, like the album opener “Trip the Darkness”. This is a great opener that just screams ‘we’re back’. “Against You”, “Upside Down” and “End of Time” are all potent tracks, especially “End of Time”. This would make a great second video in my opinion. This is just a great, melodic mid-tempo song, which reminded me why I fell in love with this band in the first place. “I Don’t Believe in Tomorrow” brings back the power and heavy riffs. “Intoxicated” is a fist pumping, head banger of a track that really gets the blood pumping, which the next track “The Army Inside” is more than happy to continue with that style and even includes a great guitar solo. There is even a cover of the REM track “Losing My Religion”, done in Lacuna Coil style, if I may say so; I think this leaves the original in the dust. “Dark Adrenaline” is an impressive return to form by Lacuna Coil and it made me a huge fan once again. 2012 is off to a great start!

Rating – 90/100



  1. Trip the Darkness
  2. Against You
  3. Kill the Light
  4. Give Me Something More
  5. Upside Down
  6. End of Time
  7. I Don’t Believe In Tomorrow
  8. Intoxicated
  9. The Army Inside
  10. Losing My Religion (REM cover)
  11. Fire
  12. My Spirit


Line Up

  • Cristina Scabbia – Vocals
  • Andrea Ferro – Vocals
  • Maus – Guitars & Lead Guitars
  • Cristiano “Pizza” Migliore – Guitars
  • Marco “Maki” Coti Zelati – Bass & Keyboards
  • CriZ – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like