Liv Kristine – “Skintight” (2010)


Label : Napalm Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Leaves’ Eyes lead vocalist Liv Kristine is back with her third solo album titled “Skintight”. While her solo career has forged a different musical direction than her main band, one thing is made abundantly clear on “Skintight”, this lady has a great voice and can sing in not just a metal environment.“Skintight” sees Liv taking on a softer rock, dare I say pop approach on her solo material. The sexy “Skintight” opens this 10-song 35-minute album. This song was chosen as the first single/video and was a solid choice. That is followed by two more excellent tracks, the acoustic flavored, “Twofold” and the rockier “Train to Somewhere” which gets my vote as the second video, this is hands down my favorite track on the CD and one I can listen to over and over again. One thing “Skintight” does very well is mix the mid-tempo guitar oriented rock tunes like “Emotional Catastrophes” and the haunting “Boy at the Window” with more acoustic ballads like the beautiful “Love In Grey”, “Lifeline” and “Wonders”. Following in the footsteps of Liv Kristine’s first two solo albums “Deux Ex Machina” and “Enter My Religion”, “Skintight” offers the listener a glimpse into the more accessible side of Liv and her musical pallet.

Rating – 88/100



  1. Skintight
  2. Twofold
  3. Train to Somewhere
  4. Love in Grey
  5. Emotional Catastrophes
  6. Lifeline
  7. Boy at the Window
  8. Wonders
  9. Versified Harmonies
  10. The Rarest Flowers

Line Up

  • Liv Kristine Espenæs Krull – Vocals
  • Thorsten Bauer – Acoustic/Electric Guitars, Saz, Flamenco Guitars, Mandolin, Sitar, Oud, Piano
  • Alexander Krull – Keyboards, Programming, Samples



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like