Omit – “Repose” PROMO (2010)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Omit are a melodic doom metal band from Norway. Their debut album titled, “Repose” features only 5-songs, and over 80-minutes worth of music spread out over 2-discs. This is definitely an ambitiously crafted debut. Throughout the duration of “Repose”, Omit know only two speeds, slow and slower. The riffs only get heavier and heavier. The opening song, “Scars” is a great way to begin things track, clocking in at over 16-minutes long. The vocals of Cecilie are well done and fit in very nice with the music. “Fatigue” and “Dissolve”, both over 14-minutes conclude the first disc. The second disc is only comprised of 2-songs, yet lasts almost 40-minutes. The first of which is the over 14-minute “Constriction” and the final track “Insolence” is over 25-minutes long and brings this debut to a close. Wow, the band certainly crams a lot into only 5-songs, and you have to give them props for their chosen direction. When all is said-and-done, Omit has delivered a very potent addition to the Doom Metal genre.  The songs are melancholic and mournful. “Repose” surely may not appeal to everyone, but the Doom Metal crowd should appreciate this debut from Omit. I look forward to seeing what this band has planned for the future.

Rating – 73/100



Disc 1

  1. Scars
  2. Fatigue
  3. Dissolve

Disc 2

  1. Constriction
  2. Insolence


Line Up

  • Cecilie Langlie – Vocals
  • Tom Simonsen – Guitars and Bass
  • Kjetil Ottersen – Guitars & Keyboards
  • Bert Nummelin – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like