Seven Kingdoms – “Seven Kingdoms” (2010)


Label : Nightmare Records

Review by Tony Cannella

One of the latest signings to the Nightmare label are a power metal band out of Florida called Seven Kingdoms. On their first album – released in 2007 the band had a male vocalist. Now on their second album – and Nightmare debut – the band is joined by female vocalist Sabrina Valentine who replaces the previous singer Bryan Edwards. Their self-titled second release is a brilliant slice of powerful, slightly epic metal, with catchy melodies and out-of-this-world musicianship. After a brief 1-minute intro the band blast away with “Somewhere Far Away”. Immediately Seven Kingdoms show off their ability at being heavy, guitar driven power metal, while still maintaining a strong sense of melody.“The Ones Who Breathe the Flame” is next and features a majestic sounding chorus and some male extreme vocals are also present here. “Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing” is a bit more commercial sounding and sounds a bit out of place when compared to the rest of the material here, yet oddly, it became one of my favorites. Next up, is one the best ballads I have heard in quite some time. On “A Murder Never Dead” vocalist Sabrina is accompanied by only a piano and really sings her heart out. Seven Kingdoms follow that up with one of their heavier tracks, “Into the Darkness”. The album maintains its heaviness the rest of the way and closes with the 9-minute track “Seven Kingdoms”, featuring vocal contributions from Crimson Glory front man Wade Black. The band does venture off into Manowar territory from time to time in the lyrical department, but who cares. All I have to say is, wow! The addition of Sabrina Valentine appears to be a good move by the band. Admittedly, I am not very familiar with their first album, but on their self-titled new release Sabrina Valentine really helps to pump the 11-songs and 56-minutes contained on this CD with a diverse and powerful vocal style. I really loved this CD!

Rating – 95/100



  1. Prelude
  2. Somewhere Far Away
  3. The Ones Who Breathe the Flame
  4. Open the Gates
  5. Vengeance by the Sons of a King
  6. Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing
  7. A Murder Never Dead
  8. Into the Darkness
  9. Eyes to the North
  10. Thunder of the Hammer
  11. Seven Kingdoms


Line Up

  • Sabrina Valentine – Vocals
  • Camden Cruz – Guitar
  • Kevin Byrd – Guitar
  • Miles Neff – Bass
  • Keith Byrd – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like