Trail of Tears – “Bloodstained Endurance” (2009)


Label : Napalm Records

Review By Erwin Van Dijk

Before we start a question: do you like Trail of Tears? If the answer is yes you can buy this one without hesitation. I did an interview with Ronny and Cathrine about this album and according to Ronny the idea behind the name of the album is: “It is a reference to the band itself and it’s history. We have endured a lot of negativity over the years, we might be scarred but not gone and with this album we have proven that those scars will heal and that what doesn’t kill you, will in fact make you stronger”. This is the first album with a renoved line up which 3 of them came from Cathrine’s second band Lucid Fear. Talking about the album, instead, there is a nice touch thanks to the contribution of Audun Gronnestad on “Bloodstained Endurance”. He is after all a member of Imperia and this is the band of Helena Iren Michaelsen, Trail of Tears’ first female singer. Although Lucid Fear is a black metal band this does not mean Trail of Tears has turned into this kind of music. Ronny is still the mastermind behind all the songs and most songs on the album are written by the Thorsen, Paulsen & Olsen trio. Exceptions of the rule are among others “Farewell to Sanity”, which is done by Moe, Næs and Cathrine and my favourite song “A Storm at Will” which is entirely done by Bjørn Næss. With other words, the new members had the opportunity to add some to the album as well and the album did not turn into Ronny’s solo album. Compared to the last album that featured Cathrine Paulsen, “A New Dimension of Might” Trail of Tears has dumped all the bombast and returned to the core. Well written and very dark without resorting on too much special effects, opera, choirs etc. There is one song I really want to mention: “A Storm at Will” : this is really the Cathrine song on “Bloodstained Endurance”. The song starts almost like an acoustic ballad until the guitars kick into gear. With this song she can finally show what she can. Personally I think this is a good album. As said before, it is more down to earth and certainly not entertainment for the masses but Trail of Tears has never been this before.

Rating – 80/100


  1. The Feverish Alliance
  2. Once Kissed by the Serpent (Twice Bitten by Truth)
  3. Bloodstained Endurance
  4. Triumphant Gleam
  5. In The Valley of Ashes
  6. A Storm at Will
  7. Take Aim.Reclaim.Prevail
  8. The Desperation Corridors
  9. Farewell to Sanity
  10. Dead End Gaze
  11. Faith Comes Knocking


Line Up

  • Ronny Thorsen – Vocals
  • Cathrine Paulsen – Vocals
  • Paul Olsen – Guitar
  • Bjørn Erik Næss – Guitar
  • Endre Moe – Bass
  • Cato Jensen – Drums


MySpace Facebook * Site


You May Also Like