Trans-Siberian Orchestra – “Beethoven’s Last Night” (2000)


Label : BMG Rights Management/Audioglobe

Review by Tony Cannella

Trans-Siberian Orchestra has been spreading their Holiday cheer in the U.S. for close to 15-years. In 2000 TSO released their first album of non-Holiday music titled “Beethoven’s Last Night” and in honor of the bands first European jaunt this album has finally been released in Europe. As with all of their albums, “Beethoven’s Last Night” features a virtual who’s who of some of the best talent you will find. “Beethoven’s Last Night” is an involved concept album that features over 70-minutes worth of music. TSO offers the listener a wonderful mix of epic metal combined with Classical music to present the listener with a soaring musical experience. Some truly talented singers such as Savatage alums Jon Oliva and Zak Stevens add their talents to some of the characters. Female vocals do not show up until track 10 when Patti Russo takes the helm as the character Theresa on the track “The Dreams of Candlelight”. She can also be heard on various other tracks including “After the Fall”. Sylvia Tosun as Fate is allowed to shine on the closing number “A Final Dream”. More highlights – of which there are many – include: “What Good This Deafness”, “Mephistopheles”, “The Dark” and “Mephistopheles’ Return”. Enough good can’t be said about this great array of talented musicians that makes up TSO. There is a reason that they have amassed a huge following among metal and non-metal fans alike.“Beethoven’s Last Night” is a perfect example of the genius of TSO.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Overture
  2. Midnight
  3. Fate
  4. What Good This Deafness
  5. Mephistopheles
  6. What Is Eternal
  7. This Moment
  8. Vienna
  9. Mozart/Figaro
  10. The Dreams of Candlelight
  11. Requiem (The Fifth)
  12. I’ll Keep Your Secrets
  13. The Dark
  14. Fur Elise
  15. After The Fall
  16. A Last Illusion
  17. This Is Who You Are
  18. Beethoven
  19. Mephistopheles’ Return
  20. Misery
  21. Who Is This Child
  22. A Final Dream


Line Up

  • Jody Ashworth – Beethoven
  • Patti Russo – Theresa
  • Jon Oliva- Mephistopheles
  • Guy Lemonnier – Young Beethoven
  • Jamie Torcellini – Twist
  • Sylvia Tosun – Fate
  • Zak Stevens – The Muses
  • Dave Diamonds – The Muses
  • Doug Thoms – The Muses
  • Robert Kinkel – Piano And Keyboards
  • Jon Oliva – Piano, Keyboards & Bass
  • Al Pitrelli – Lead, Rhythm & Bass Guitars 
  • Paul O’Neill- Rhythm & Acoustic Guitars
  • Chris Caffery – Guitars
  • Jeff Plate – Drums
  • Johnny Lee Middlenton – Bass
  • Dave Wittman – Drums, Guitars & Bass Inserts



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like