Browsing articles tagged with " cult"
Nov 4, 2014
Comments Off on Voices of Destiny – “Crisis Cult” (2014)

Voices of Destiny – “Crisis Cult” (2014)

Label: Massacre Records

Review by Tony Cannella

The symphonic metal outfit from Germany, Voices of Destiny returns with a new singer Ada Flechtner (ex-Coronatus) and their 3rd album “Crisis Cult”; since changing vocalists is often one of the biggest decisions a band can make, you had better make sure that you have found the right one. Well, in listening to “Crisis Cult”, I couldn’t help but think to myself that Ada is the perfect choice to be the bands new female voice.

“Crisis Cult” is basically a concept record. Lyrically it is perhaps the bands best and musically they straddle the line between head banging metal and a more melodic tone, but all of the songs have a bombastic element. The majority of the vocals are handled by Ada, but keyboardist Lukas Palme also contributes with his grunting vocals. Continue reading »

Oct 6, 2012

Sabbath Assembly – “Ye Are Gods” (2012)

Label : Svart Records/The Ajna Offensive

Review by Luisa Mercier

Four are the entities of God: Christ, Jehova, Satan and Lucifer and each of them can be found in human nature shaped as hate, love, joy and pain. This vision, that reminds me of the Manichean Church of the origins of Christianity, was typical of the Process Church of the Final Judgement, one of the most unique and controversial cults of the latest decades. It was rumored to be linked to Charles Manson and Satanism, but now it is dissolved and what remains are its rites. Sabbath Asssembly have put in music the most sacred texts of the Church and also have revamped some of their most revered hymns, stuff reserved to the most important members. The songwriting is quite simple, mostly based on acoustic music, to be played in church and it is also background to reading of sacred texts. The overall experience is quite alienating as all good cults should be while Jamie Myers vocals are sweet, versatile, really beautiful, I appreciated that are so different from the vocals usually found in occult acts. Genesis P-Orridge delivers readings throughout the album, giving the effect of call-and-response between priest and flock.  I do not know the exact aim of this album, maybe it is just a tribute to the Church, but it is powerfully effective.

Rating – 80/100



  1. Let Us All Give Praise and Validation
  2. We Come From the One
  3. Bless Our Lord and Master
  4. We Give Our Lives
  5. Exit
  6. Christ You Bring the End
  7. And the Clarion Calls
  8. In the Time of Abaddon II
  9. Transcendence
  10. For the Love of the Gods


Line Up

  • Jamie Myers – vocals
  • Dave Nuss – guitars



BandCamp * Facebook 


Mar 25, 2012

Rhode Island Red – “Rhode Island Red” (2010)

Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Rhode Island Red are a London, England based unit. Their self-titled debut has just been issued and it features 10-songs and 41-minutes worth of classic sounding hard rock, led by the soulful and quite expressive vocals of Lyla D’Souza. Musically, Rhode Island Red is a bit of a throwback to classic rock bands of the 70’s. Lyla D’Souza has a bit of a Bluesy quality to her voice. Their songs have been described as The Cult meets Garbage, and that is a fair assessment I suppose. The songs have a definite raw energy and power to them, but the band also has shown some great attention to the melodic end of the spectrum. Highlights include: “Kerosene”, “Slip Away”, “Over & Over” and the acoustically ballad “Fate Insists” which closes the CD. With their debut album, Rhode Island Red has released a strong rock record that pays homage to a bygone era, while still keeping their feet planted firmly in the present.  

Rating – 78/100



  1. Kerosene
  2. Slip Away
  3. Stalemate
  4. Over & Over
  5. Hollow Man
  6. Little Wizard
  7. Too Far Gone
  8. Untouchables
  9. Supernatural
  10. Fate Insists


Line Up

  • Lyla D’Souza – Vocals
  • Dave Garfield – Guitar
  • Andrea Basiola – Guitar
  • Mike McGinness – Bass
  • Marco Tiano – Drums



Rhode Island Red : MySpace * Facebook * Site

Kill for Eden : ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site

6 color styles available:

Style switcher only on this demo version. Theme styles can be changed from Options page.


 photo 1402796831_youtube_256x256x32_zps12c9c5dd.png