Browsing articles tagged with " lumous"
Mar 19, 2012

Manzana – “Industrial Hippies” (2010)

Label : Tuupa Records/Playground Music

Review by Tony Cannella

Finland’s Manzana have already impressed with their second “Babies of Revolution”, now this hard rockin’ quartet returns with their sophomore effort “Industrial Hippies”. While “Babies of Revolution” had a definite appeal, it is “Industrial Hippies” that really showcases the full potential of Manzana. The album quickly shifts into high gear with the infectious charm of “Stay Away from My Universe”. This is just one of those songs that you can’t help but move and hum along to. The excellent 70s style classic rock style opening riff intros “Everything But You” as the song quickly settles into an unrelenting groove. “Good Times on the Run” begins with a biting guitar riff as the song morphs into one of the more commercial sounding numbers on “Industrial Hippies”. It would not be a stretch to say that I could definitely envision this song being played on the radio. “Mother Can’t Rock” takes on an aggressive, almost punk rock tone to it, this song perfectly demonstrates the diversity that Manzana are capable of. Other highlights: “Killer Baby”, “Evil Inside” and the album closer “Speed Up the Train”. With “Industrial Hippies”, Manzana has released a treat for fans that enjoy just good, adrenaline filled hard rock.

Rating – 88/100



  1. Stay Away from My Universe
  2. Everything but You
  3. Good Times on the Run
  4. Mother Can’t Rock
  5. Killer Baby
  6. Evil Inside
  7. Pretty Little Partner in Crime
  8. Demolition Doll
  9. Speed Up the Train


Line Up

  • Piritta Lumous – Vocals
  • Henri Virsell – Guitars, Programming, Backing Vocals
  • Klaus Wirzenius – Bass, Backing Vocals
  • Tomi Ylönen – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Site

Feb 14, 2012

Manzana – “Babies of Revolution” (2009)

Label: Dynamic Arts Records

Review By Tony Cannella

Manzana hail from Finland. Their press bio lists their musical genre as Grunge/Rock/Metal. I was a bit put off by the mention of “Grunge” being their musical style, before having heard their new CD. After listening to their newest effort (and second CD) titled “Babies of Revolution”, there seems to be no huge grunge influence that is apparent, but there is plenty of rock and metal featured throughout the 9-songs and 40-minutes of music on this CD. If there is a grunge influence it is only makes up a small part of “Babies of Revolution” as Manzana are able to pretty much incorporate different styles to the proceedings, which is a definite strength that the band displays, they are simply not bound to one genre or style. The opening track “Wash My Sins Away” is a pretty good indicator of this fact, with it’s machine gun style riffing and it’s pretty straightforward tempo and it’s memorable chorus. “Panda Girl” is next and is a very up-tempo number and one of the highlights. Other favorites include: “Sweet Revenge”, “End of the World” and “Fake”, all of these songs feature a certain attitude in both the lyrical department and the delivery. With “Babies of Revolution”, Manzana have put out a pretty good piece of work that can and should appeal to fans of different styles of music.

Rating – 75/100



  1. Wash My Sins Away
  2. Panda Girl
  3. Sweet Revenge
  4. Near Death Experience
  5. End of the World
  6. Fake
  7. Nothing as Whole as a Broken Heart
  8. World Is a Vampire
  9. Cherry Pit


Line Up

  • Piritta Lumous – Vocals
  • Henri Virsell – Guitars, Programming, Backing Vocals
  • Klaus Wirzenius – Bass, Backing Vocals
  • Heikki Malmberg – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Site

6 color styles available:

Style switcher only on this demo version. Theme styles can be changed from Options page.



 photo 1402796831_youtube_256x256x32_zps12c9c5dd.png


December 2014
« Nov