Label: Metropolis/Cooking Vinyl

Review by Tony Cannella

Musically speaking, Alison Moyet is a bit different than what you might find at Femme Metal. This U.K. born singer has already had a long, distinctive career for herself mostly as a solo artist. She has already released eight albums and has just released a new live album entitled “Minutes and Seconds – Live”. Musically the songs have elements of dark pop, electronica and rock in them. Whatever the genre, there is a definite aura surrounding the songs all capped off by Alison Moyet’s amazing voice.

Of course Minutes & Seconds” is a live record. It features 13-songs and over 50-minutes of music that is darkly romantic at times and works well in a live setting. Some songs that really stood out for me were: “Horizon Flame”, “When I Was Your Girl”, “Filigree”, “All Signs of Life” and “All Cried Out”. Without a doubt there is a lot of cool music contained on this disc.

Alison Moyet has got a captivating voice and the fact that she has had such a lasting career shows she is doing something right. I have to admit that I was not familiar with Alison Moyet’s music, I had only heard the name and after listening to “Minutes and Seconds”, I was impressed, fascinated and intrigued all at once. “Minutes and Seconds – Live” is a perfect example of what she has to offer.

Rating – 85/100



  1. Horizon Flames
  2. When I Was Your Girl
  3. Ordinary Girl
  4. Remind Yourself
  5. Is This Love?
  6. Winter Kills
  7. Filigree
  8. Only You
  9. Changeling
  10. This House
  11. All Signs of Life
  12. All Cried Out
  13. Situation


Line Up

  • Alison Moyet – Vocals
  • John Garden – Guitars, Keyboards, Programming
  • Sean McGhee – Guitar, Programming, Keyboards



Facebook * Twitter * Site