Courage My Love – “Becoming” (2015)


Label: InVogue Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Courage My Love is a powerhouse pop/punk trio from Kitchener, Ontario, Canada. The band is led by the twin sisters, Mercedes Arn-Horn (Guitar/Vocals) and Phoenix Arn-Horn (drums and vocals). Bassist Brandon Lockwood completes the trio. CML were formed in 2009 and in 2011 released their debut EP “For Now” and since then have released several more EPS including “Becoming” which has been re-released with more material thus making it a full-length for our listening pleasure.

The intro “All We Are” opens the disc and gives way to the excellent “Skin & Bone”. This song has a great melodic heavy pop vibe to it and is one the standout tracks on “Becoming”. For the next song “Cold Blooded” the band ramps up the power and it becomes an instantly likeable Paramore style rocker. Songs like “Kerosene”, “Unfamiliar Sheets” and “Goodbye to Giving Up” have undeniable mainstream potential and one can only hope that they will get the attention they deserve. “Becoming” is a tour de force of strong, energetic hook-laden songs. Courage My Love is a young band with so much offer in the pop/punk genre. The songs on “Becoming” are not only accessible with a punk edge but they are also pretty damn good. What’s not to love?

Rating – 80/100



  1. All We Are (intro)
  2. Skin & Bone
  3. Cold Blooded
  4. Kerosene
  5. Unfamiliar Sheets
  6. Lost Cause
  7. Do As You’re Told
  8. Goodbye to Giving Up
  9. We’re Not in Kansas Anymore
  10. All I Need
  11. Low
  12. You Don’t Know How
  13. Breathing Room
  14. Dark Wood, Dark Water


Line Up

  • Mercedes Arn-Horn – Guitar & Vocals
  • Brandon Lockwood – Bass & Vocals
  • Phoenix Arn-Horn – Drums & Vocals



You May Also Like

THE FBR – New single “Still on the Run”

THE FBR – New single “Still on the Run” Americana/Rock Group The FBR Announce Strong Indie Folk Track, Premiered via Americana UK LISTEN TO “STILL ON THE RUN” Bandmates Malarie McConaha, lead singer and…
View Post

Johanna Kurkela – “Ingrid” (2015)

Label: Kaiku Recordings Review by CriX The Finnish star of melodic pop Johanna Kurkela has released her 7th full-lenght album “Ingrid” last November. An emotional album rich of feelings in…
View Post