Label: Island Records Australia

Review by Luisa Mercier

Gin is a New Zealand singer-songwriter, and “Gravel and Wine” is her second effort that is now being released globally. Even though coming from Oceania, her main influences clearly are from the US, so since the opener “Black Sheep”, you can distinguish country, Americana, trash can riffs and her throaty vocals that remind me of British singer Duffy“Man Like That” is a rock, danceable tune with a hook that you cannot escape, even some trumpets appear.

“Poison” is a blues-tinged tune that is filled with melancholy and will bring you along the Mississipi river, while following “Kill of The Night” is more of a rock song, but the Southern vibe is present, even though in the shape of Southern Rock. But there is also space for ballads. “If Only” is a sweet, slow song with an old-fashioned feeling that won’t pass unnoticed. “Dirty Love” is another rock-blues song with a sexy vibe you cannot go without, while “Happy Ever After” is a nice mid-tempo with a catchy chorus, quite positive and nice. “Sweet Hell” is a country up-tempo song that contrasts with previous sad ballad “Saturday Smile”, while the closing track is another acoustic ballad, very, very melancholic. In the end, “Gravel And Wine” is a very good record of you like Southern sound and style.

Rating – 75/100



  1. Black Sheep
  2. Man Like That
  3. Poison
  4. Kill of The Night
  5. Devil in Me
  6. If Only
  7. Dirty Love
  8. Happy Ever After
  9. Saturday Smile
  10. Sweet Hell
  11. Singin’ My Soul


Line Up

  • Gin Wigmore – Vocals



Facebook * Twitter * Site