Label: Atlantic Records / [GOOD}CROOK

Review by Luisa Mercier

MegMyersmakeAShadowEPCoverI came to know Meg Myers some months ago when she released “Heart, Heart, Head” and a kind friend pointed her out to me. I was stunned after the first listen and it was love at first sight with the related video. The song, included in this EP, is one of the most passional, felt tracks I ever heard in my life. She literally screams her heart out and the video is the perfect companion of such masterpiece. You must run to YouTube or to I-Tunes to understand what I mean. The rest of the EP is equally good and very varied. Actually another highlight is the opener “Desire” which contains some explicit language that perfectly fits the message of the song. Again, go and take a look at the beautiful video that matches this groovy, guitar tinged anthem laced by her sexy vocals. “Go” is a rock track, guitar driven which become heavier towards the end, I might say almost metal and is perfectly framed by her screams. I love the way she screams, and I know other people who love it, I think she is very, very expressive. On the other side, “Make a Shadow” is a sweet mid-tempo song that starts slowly and builds up towards the chorus which is really epic as it is typical of Meg. After the already mentioned “Heart, Heart, Head”, the EP is closed by the acoustic ballad “The Morning After”. Very simple, the song features her voice and a guitar and it is quite melancholic.  I strongly recommend to try this artist, you will not regret it and please if you may, take a chance to listen to her previous work “ Daughter in the Choir”, which is another little gem.

Rating – 80/100



  1. Desire
  2. Go
  3. Make A Shadow
  4. Heart Heart Head
  5. The Morning After



Facebook * Twitter * Site


Latest posts by Miriam Cadoni (see all)