Browsing articles tagged with " 85"
Oct 23, 2014
Comments Off

Meden Agan – “Lacrima Dei” (2014)

Label: No Remorse Records

Review by Tony Cannella

“Lacrima Dei” is the 3rd album Greece’s symphonic metallers Meden Again. “Lacrima Dei” sees lead vocalist Maya making her debut with the band as she replaces Iliana who now fronts Enemy of Reality.

First off, the addition of Maya seems to be a really good decision. Her voice fits in well with the bands intricate musical arrangements and the few songs where she is paired with a male vocalist are some of the highlights. The male vocalists range from traditional metal to extreme metal and either way, Maya’s voice gels perfectly with them. Songs that stand out in particular are: “Divine Wrath”, “Embrace the Sorrow”, “Portal of Fear” and “Commemorate the Fallen”. Another song that stands out is the tear jerking ballad “Loss”. Continue reading »

Sep 24, 2014
Comments Off

Crucified Barbara – “In the Red” (2014)

Label: Despotz Records

Review by Tony Cannella

The thing about Sweden’s Crucified Barbara is that you always know what you are going to get. Sometimes familiarity is good and that holds true on their new album, “In the Red”.

The Motorhead style rocker, “I Sell My Kids for Rock N’ Roll” starts things off and provides a thumping, powerhouse of an opener. “In the Red” features 11-songs and 40-minutes worth of powerful music that is wonderfully, unapologetically classic Crucified Barbara. The band is on quite a roll with the last few albums and that continues with “In the Red”. Songs like, “To Kill a Man”, “Electric Sky” and “Lunatic #1″ are sure to please the fan base, whilst also gathering new followers. Continue reading »

Jul 6, 2014
Comments Off

Cherry & the Vipers – “Cherry & and the Vipers” (2013)

Label: Epic/Sony Music Finland

Review by CriX

What happens if you put an actress, a cellist and 2 established musicians in the same band? An explosion of energy and pure rock music. Cherry & the Vipers is a Finnish rock band is formed by singer and actress Kirsi Ylijoki, the guitarist is Samuel Leminen, the bassist is Jarkko Strengell and finally we have Apocalyptica‘s  Eicca Toppinen playing the drums instead of his cello. Someone could think that’s something peculiar but you have to absolutly check out their debut album, it’s a good work, and if you like rock music, well, this is the band that you were looking for. “Rakkauden punk” introduces the album and it gives the right boost with Kirsi‘s scratchy vocals that give us an overall vision about their explosive music style. Continue reading »

Jul 4, 2014
Comments Off

Theatrum Mundi – “The Eyes of the Realm” (2013)

Label: Punk-Upon-Avon

Review by Tony Cannella

I have been receiving some quality female fronted symphonic metal coming from the USA as of late. That is always a good thing and I have to say the class of which is very high. One such band that I have found highly impressive and inspiring and just flat out good is Theatrum Mundi from Springfield, Missouri. They may be at the core a “symphonic metal” band, but they have so much more to offer as their debut album “The Eyes of the Realm” proves. Their music has been described by the band as Elizabethan Punk. They mix symphonic elements to go along with industrial beats and Elizabethan era lyrics to create a unique metal experience for the listener. Continue reading »

Jul 2, 2014
Comments Off

Training Icarus – “Stand Aside” (2014)

Label: Ravenheart Music

Review by Tony Cannella

Training Icarus is a melodic heavy metal band from London, England. The band is recently signed to the Ravenheart label (quite honestly one of the coolest of labels) and has issued their debut output, “Stand Aside”.

The energetic opener “Stand Aside” comes crashing through to start the album. This song is based around a swirling guitar riff and lead vocalist Leigh Turner’s expressive metal delivery. Throughout the 60-minutes worth of playing time, the band holds nothing back and delivers a truly metallic statement. The next Track “Nightmares” has a chugging riff and the song has an eerie, foreboding quality. The band certainly adds generous amounts of melody to their metal. Continue reading »

6 color styles available:

Style switcher only on this demo version. Theme styles can be changed from Options page.



 photo 1402796831_youtube_256x256x32_zps12c9c5dd.png


October 2014
« Sep